The professional wrestler had maintained a low profile ever since he left WWE. However, his recent Twitter post expressing his opinion on intergender matches was met with disdain by many users. In the tweet, Scotty wrote: “Dear promoters. I DO NOT ‘fight’ women. I’m 49 & have a 20-year-old daughter. ‘Hurting’ women isn’t appealing to me. I understand that there are men that do it these days. It’s just not my thing. If that makes me old or out of touch, I’ll take it. Please stop trying to book it.”

— Last Minute Wrestling Podcast ✊🏽 (@lmwpodcast) November 17, 2022 The former WWE Tag Team champion proceeded to accept that, in the past, he had fought in intergender matches, but that was a different time in his life. “Also, before my matches from 20+ years ago with Linda Miles, Chyna, or any other women are brought up, I know what I did. It was a different time, a different place, & I wasn’t a father to a 20 yr old daughter.” Despite justifying himself, Scotty’s statements evoked anger, with a number of Twitter users accusing him of sexism. Overwhelmed by the negative response, Scotty deactivated and deleted his Twitter account, but screenshots of the original tweet had already been saved.

— Session Moth Martina🍻 マーティナセッション (@mothfromdaflats) November 18, 2022 Nevertheless, some people rose to his defense, such as Irish wrestler Session Moth Martina, who tweeted: “Scotty was asked to wrestle me earlier this year, and he couldn’t have been more polite and kind when explaining his reasons not to, which I completely accepted and understood. So we tagged vs two guys. It was great. Let’s leave him alone and let him have his morals.” It’s fair to say Scotty has learned that Twitter can be a toxic place where sheer numbers of irrationality reign supreme, but it’s too bad he had to learn this the hard way. Speaking of WWE controversies, it appears that many within the promotion aren’t on board with the potential signing of CM Punk. The former WWE champion is believed to be working on a buyout with AEW following an earlier backstage altercation during a pay-per-view event.

Scotty 2 Hotty deletes his Twitter account after contentious remarks spark outrage - 18Scotty 2 Hotty deletes his Twitter account after contentious remarks spark outrage - 3